Hereditary (2018)

Written by:

Something something it runs in the family

Heads-up, I’m going to do my best to write this review in the most generic and non-spoiler of terms that I can muster. Mostly because I find it to be much more effective a horror film if you go in almost blind, as I did the first time I watched it. This was my second viewing and I was also a bit high for it, so I was focusing intensely on things I knew were going to happen.

First of all, great supporting cast and all, but this film is mostly Toni Collette on an emotional roller coaster and she nailed it. I haven’t done the research but I feel like she was robbed of an Oscar nomination because Hereditary is a horror genre pic.

Secondly, the barest outline of the film is the worst, most unimaginable thing happening to a family, and then it gets worse. And worse. While I don’t agree with the audience poll of D+ it received, I totally get it. The degree of horribleness of the events almost feels like a violation.  Director and writer Ari Aster seems like he might have some masochistic tendencies.

It’s a deeply dark and unsettling picture, but also expertly crafted which is impressive for a director’s debut. The execution of some scenes is absolutely masterful leading to rewarding re-watches.

Watched on Netflix, though I do want to pick it up on bluray.

5 / 5

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started